The Reason for the Season

So I thought to myself, why is it that Christmas is called the season of giving. I mean, I know it’s common knowledge that Christmas Day is celebrated as the day of Jesus Christ’s birth. Or at least the Christians believe it so, and well everyone else just dubs it as the day we give our children/friends/family gifts.

So why a season of giving? Why not the season of birthing? Or the season of suffering?

I was flipping through a small “calendar” of verses and I came across this verse on the page for 24th December.

“Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!”

2 Corinthians 9:15

The bible actually has a “!” after the word gift. I mean I don’t know about you, but that must really mean that Paul was really really excited about this ‘gift’.

I mean, I can kind of guess what this gift is, but I needed proof.

So what I did was to read the verses before that, and surprisingly, the verses that come before this verse are:

“… God loves a cheerful giver.”

2 Corinthians 9:7

Which everyone knows as the verse that parents use to guilt trip kids into giving up money for offering. (I mean, that’s when you don’t know anything about offering, or the meaning  behind it etc.)

(I’m digressing a bit so bear with me)

Now we know that when you sow (this is actually the verse before verse 7) you reap accordingly. You sow big, you reap big, and the same goes for when you sow small.

But you would probably ask then: “How do you know if I sow big that I will reap big?” Well, other than things like “study hard and the results will be good” or “the amount of time you spend doing your maths homework, will translate into the number of marks you get in the exam” and stuff like that, the bible actually goes on to say in verse 8:

“And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may have an abundance for every good work.”

2 Corinthians 9:8

That when you give, you’re allowing God to make ALL grace abound (increase) toward you! You’re telling God to bless you even more! If that isn’t awesome I don’t know what is. And wait there’s more!

It’s not only grace, but He makes sure you have sufficiency (enough) in all things! That means you won’t lack in any thing! Ever!

BUT WAIITTTTTTT, there’s still more!

That you may have abundance for every good work! Now, you can think about it in two ways.

  1. you have abundance (which means a lot) for all the things you need to do;
  2. you have an abundance received whenever you give!

Either way you read it, it’s going to be good, you can count on it.

Isn’t it amazing? And that’s not even what I wanted to find out, and there’s already so many small nuggets of gold hidden right there. God is great isn’t He?

Now, back to what I was on about earlier:

What is the INDESCRIBABLE GIFT?

Well, it’s the GIFT OF GOD’S OWN SON, JESUS!

Jesus came down from heaven as a child, a gift from heaven to all mankind, to save us from eternal damnation. (I’m not even exaggerating)

But, how did I come to that conclusion? I went to look up on a bit of the Greek, which may sound taxing but the resources you find on the internet is actually quite amazing. (The new testament was written in GREEK, by the way)

And what I found was this. The Greek for gift (and especially this verse’s gift) is, δωρεᾷ. (dōrea) which, surprisingly, is not the normal Greek for gift. The normal Greek for gift is δόμα (doma).

So what’s the difference? NOW GET READY TO HAVE YOUR MIND BLOWN.

δωρεᾷ. (dōrea), means gift, but not just any gift, but a free gift, a gift not acquired by merit, or entitlement. (sound familiar yet?)

It’s a gift given freely. Now where have we heard that before?

“He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him, also FREELY give us all things.”

Romans 8:32

God freely gave us Jesus, this free Gift that keeps on giving! And we know that this is a free gift because? We can never ever ever dream to attain it with our own works.

“But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

Romans 5:8

Come off it. Jesus died 2000 years ago. That’s 2000 years before you were CONCEIVED. You couldn’t have been able to make yourself any bit worthy of the righteousness He has given you. This gift cannot be earned by merit. (I mean think about it, if you weren’t born then, how could you have gotten Jesus to die for you? He died for sinners, and that’s you and me.)

And this gift isn’t an entitlement either. You’re not entitled to the Lord of all creation to die for you. You’re honestly not worth it. I mean if I were God, heck it, you’re a small speck of dust in my vast universe (that’s still expanding, meaning you’re getting relatively smaller) why should I die for you? But it wasn’t a “should’ve”, it was a would’ve.

God sent Jesus down to earth (why we celebrate CHRISTMASSSS) to die for us because He loves us. He loves you enough to die for you. That’s like you jumping in front of a car to save a flea.

Not worth it, I know.

But God thinks it is. (and I’m not questioning God)

So God, our Daddy God, gave  His Son, Jesus, as a gift for us. The greatest gift of all.

I don’t know about you, but that answered my question well and good. Why is it the season for giving? It’s because Jesus, heaven’s gift, was born, and He was the greatest gift of ALL TIME.

BUT WAIT!

There’s even more!

I took the liberty to look up INDESCRIBABLE and the Greek was anekdigetos, which meant impossible to estimate!!! Our puny human minds can’t and won’t ever be able to estimate the greatness of this gift given to us, Jesus Christ, our Lord and Saviour!

Choy

“and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:20

Leave a Reply

